Look what has arrived in my front room!

I have to start this post by saying a big thank you to my man Gareth for putting up with me playing every evening for at least two hours!

But what was I playing?

20130811_135103

A Steel pan! Yep that’s right I am in a steel pan band. Well actually I was in a band but unfortunately it folded after Christmas this year.. booooooooo!!! 😦 I was very sad that I couldn’t play any more as I loved it so much!

 So when I received a call from Jim the leader asking If I could play in the other band he has at Arundel festival, I jumped at the chance! I went along to the first practice 9 days before the event. Baring in mind I hadn’t played for 6 months I was asked to learn 8 tunes in a week – 6 melody pieces, 1 alto piece and to play kit on the last piece. I was a little scared and doubted my self a bit but decided to rise to the challenge. And what a week I had!

I borrowed the melody pan and every evening I played the tunes over and over and over again. I wasn’t that good at the beginning of the week, but by the end of the week I had improved a lot – I hoped? So the day of the festival arrived. I went to the practise that was arranged before the gig and played the tunes with the group. There were a few arrangement problems but we sorted that out and I was ready for the big gig! (Just!)

So I arrived in Arundel and guess what the heavens opened! It was pouring down with rain, which meant we may not be able to play. However we set the drums up and placed the covers on top of them to keep them dry and waited. The rain eased off eventually and we quickly got ready and started to play for our audience. Half way through the set it started to rain again but we didn’t care, we played the best we could and people were even dancing in the rain to our sound. It was brilliant experience and I am gutted that I am not playing any more… again. Hopefully I can play I the future, so watch this space!

Celebration Samba at Arundel  52

Toodles!

xx Laura xx

Leave a Reply

